top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaseco Mission

Hope Through Sponsorship





Hi, I'm Lovely Andaya, and I'm 17 years old. My family is broken; my mom is our sole provider. She used to sell things, but now she works as a housemaid in Quezon City. Our older brother takes care of us. My mom's salary isn't always enough for us. We have siblings in college and junior high, and I'm starting college soon.


Before I got sponsorship, my mom struggled to cover our daily needs and school expenses. At one point, I almost quit school because of financial problems. I talked to my church leader about stopping, feeling overwhelmed by my mom's struggles. She advised me to trust God, so I did. Life hasn't been easy; it feels like a sad story sometimes.


I used to believe in imagination over reality, being an artist and writer. But life showed me otherwise. I stopped schooling despite being an honor student and leader because I wanted to ease my family's burden. My siblings are in college, and money was tight.


When I told my church leader I quit school, our youth pastor told me about sponsorship. I was moved to tears. What seemed dark now felt bright. It gave me hope for tomorrow. The financial support covered my school fees, easing the burden on my mom.


Sponsorship changed my weekdays. I managed money better, saving for expenses when my mom's baon wasn't enough. It motivated me to excel in college. I aim to graduate magna cum laude, opening doors in government offices or psychology, where I'm interested.

I'm grateful to those who supported me. You've changed my life, giving me hope and inspiring me to be better. I'm now involved in community service, giving back and making a difference. For students like me, don't give up. Trust the process and seek help when needed.


To those needing sponsorship, reach out for guidance. Ask for help; there's no shame. Your struggles can become strengths. Stay positive and focus on your dreams. Clear negativity; make space for opportunities. Build yourself into who you want to be.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page